Categories
Faith

The Gift of Children

Have you ever received a gift?

How did you feel?

I love gifts, no matter how little they may be. I see gifts as an expression of love and care, and that is why I adore them so much.

It’s been said that children are gifts. But have you ever stopped to wonder why God refers to them as gifts?

There is a bible verse that backs this statement and I’m going to quote it.

Children are God’s love-gift; they are heaven’s generous reward.

Psalms 127:3 TPT

God loves us dearly and as such he has done many things for us.  God knows how to express his love in many ways and this is just one of them.

If you have a child or you are privileged to be close to someone’s child, I urge you to love them as your own. Children have a happy atmosphere around them and when you see them, you see a ray of hope. Children are the future! This is not a mere statement, it is the truth.

Children represent the process of life. Have you ever wondered how an egg develops into a baby, grows to become a toddler, a young boy/girl, a teenager and then an adult?

That is just a mystery of life.

THREE REASONS CHILDREN ARE REFERRED TO AS ‘GIFTS’

  1. They are worth more than any material possession. Generally, we seek after lifeless treasure but we can never quantify a living treasure. A child is worth more than any material possession you may have. Remember that as humans, we cannot make children on our own. It is God that gives us the grace to reproduce.
  2. Every child is different. Even twins have different destinies. God created children and deposited different special abilities in them. Each child reveals to the world a very special part of who God is that no other child has ever done, or will ever do. We all have our uniqueness and purpose.
  3. Every child was made by God in his image. Be it light-skinned or dark-skinned, every child was made in God’s image. Every child has the potential to have the light of Jesus shine bright through them. God has a plan and purpose for every child and that purpose is meant to glorify him.

Every time I hold a baby, all I just want to do is shower that child with so much love. They are such adorable creatures. They make me wonder how God sees us, as his children.

Does he want to hold our hand?

Yes!

Does he want to love up on us?

A BIG yes!

Is he concerned about how we live our lives?

A STRONG yes!

Does he want us to let him in so he can lead us on the right path?

A MIGHTY yes!

I don’t know about you but I am a child.

I am a child of God.

No matter how old I become, I’ll always be God’s child.

And because of that, I know that I am a gift and I’m special.

Luckily, I’m not the only special person here. You are also special. You are also a gift from God to someone. It may be your family, your friend, or even your colleague. Just remember that you are a gift. You are God’s love-gift to someone and you are loved by him. You have a purpose to fulfil in this world. You are a blessing to someone out there. Don’t let the gift in you become a waste.

Happy Children’s Day.

Remember to SMILE because you are special.

Don’t forget to follow this blog for more inspiring posts.

By Kendra Omo

I am an educator, author and fiction storyteller.

Leave a comment