Categories
Lifestyle

MY GRATITUDE

First, I want to establish something. This is not to boast of my achievements or whatsoever but to remind myself of the good things that keep my hopes up.

Besides, it’s risky to be ungrateful. As common as it sounds, I learned that recently.

Gratitude is not a dress that you can put on and put off anytime you want. Gratitude is meant to be an act. It’s something you put on at every moment of your blessed life.

Oh! Jane bought you a lollipop and the next thing that comes out of your mouth is a thank you.
Of course, you didn’t ask for it but you are grateful still.

You walked into a restaurant and ordered chicken and chips and the waitress tells you, “I’m sorry, we are out of chicken. Would you like to be served with a plate of turkey and chips instead?”
You are disappointed but the next thing that comes from your mouth is, “No, thanks. I’ll prefer to have a plate of burrito and a bottle of water.”
Disappointed, yet grateful for the offer.

How about a scenario where you dropped your book on the table and you can’t reach out for it but your friend can. “Please Jane, can you help me with my book over there?”
“Sure”
Jane gives you the book and the same words pop out of your mouth, “Thanks.”

Gratitude is not just about saying, “Thanks” or “I’m grateful”.
Most times, we say thanks but we don’t mean it.
Now, this is what I want to correct.

For every word of gratitude you say, you have to mean it. What’s the use of saying, “Thanks,” if you don’t mean it?

It’s all fake.

Of course, you can try to act fake before others but you cannot act fake before God. He knows your every thought. You can’t fool him.

As we end the year, how about you put on a sincere attitude of gratitude. Be truly grateful for what you have and also be grateful for what you don’t have. God does not make mistakes. He knows what he is doing.

Sit and list the good things and bad things that must have happened to you. And as you do so, tell God thank you for each of those things.

Oh! And don’t forget to thank him for these things also:
* Who he is
* What he has done
* What he is doing
* What he will do

My attitude of gratitude can never die. I live to be grateful.

Seasons greetings to you all.
See you in 2022!

By Kendra Omo

I am an educator, author and fiction storyteller.

Leave a comment